Allows advertisers to bid for the ability to serve ads on a webpage that’s being opened at any given time by any given person.
ROI explores how worthwhile a marketing activity was based on how much investment was spent vs how much profit was made. The higher the ROI the better!
A file created by webmasters that tells search engine bots not to visit certain pages of a site.
This metric calculates the return you get on every £1 of advertising spend. For example, if you make £500 of revenue from £100 of ad spend, your ROAS will be 5 or 500%.
Refers to structured data markup that can be added into existing HTML to allow search engines and users to better understand the information a page contains.
In digital marketing, rich media is content that encourages viewers to interact with it. Videos, audio, and animations are examples of rich media.
The maximum number of days in an affiliate programme that a customer can convert after clicking an ad from that affiliate/influencer.
Also known as retargeting, this form of advertising shows ads to users who have already engaged with your website or your brand. Remarketing can be done using website visitor lists or your CRM database.
Usually done via word of mouth, referral marketing is where a brand or product is recommended to friends and family. There’s also sometimes an incentive too for if someone converts who you have referred. Maybe a discount on a next order for one or both customers.
A redirect is set up when you want a certain page to go to a different page either permanently or temporarily. There are two different types of redirects, see 301 and 302.
We all know that backlinks are valuable, so reciprocal links can be a good tactic. It’s an agreement between two websites – if you link to me, I’ll link back to you.
Ranking in digital marketing is what position your website appears in the SERPs. You’re doing great if you appear on page 1, you’re smashing it if you’re in the top 3.